TRYING TO REACH OUT…

Earlier today, I head out and walked past what was the feeding station, up until last night.  To my amazement, I found the pregnant cat sleeping next to where the bowls used to be.   She is the last remaining cat.  Fortunately, I had a can of cat food with me and I offered it to her on the double.  She ate and I sat, nearby, elated that she had not been stolen.  After careful consideration, I concluded that the best thing to do would be to trap her and put her in the hands of a caring person that I can trust.  I resolved to come back out later in the evening, with a trap, so I can remove her from the streets.

With this goal in mind, I head out the door with my trap this evening.  First, I set up on 165st, but there was no result.  Then I followed her and crossed the street to 164.  I set the trap up there.  She came close to it but, ultimately, walked away.   I kept hoping for her to return, but she did not.  Before she dissapeared, I offered her a can of cat food.  She ate a good portion, then walked away into the alley.  If her hunger is satisfied, it would make her less vulnerable to strangers that want to trap her by exploiting her hunger.

Then a resident from the east end of the brown stone told me off in a very loud and aggressive way.  He said he didn’t want to see a cat trap in front of the building he lives in.  I told him that I didn’t know prior and that I would not do it again, but he continued his verbal tirade directed at me.  Finally, he said he didn’t give **** what happens to the cats, so he doesn’t want to see any trapping activity, period.  Then he told me to get off his street and a lot of other things I can’t mention.  He did this in front of a neighbor that I was having a chat with while I was on my way back home.  I was just trying to help the cat from ending up in the wrong hands.  What I’ve encountered doing cat rescue, thus far, is a lot of indifference; mocking; charged feelings; criminal activity; violence; and verbal abuse.  I don’t know what the future of this cat will be, but I know that I have tried to look out for her in midst of a hostile and criminal environment.  If there is a God, I sure hope he keeps her (and her soon to be born kittens) away from predators, if I cannot.

Later in the evening, when I went back out, I took a walk down the street again to check for cats.  I haven’t seen the grey tuxedo tabby since last week.  Cat theives use caretakers as feeders, fosters, and socializers before they intervene and abduct cats for their own profit.

Leave a comment